Home » 2011 » I’m so annoyed.

I’m so annoyed.

My parents wanted me to send my photos to some broker dude so they can set me up with a boy they think will work for me.  Just because the charts say we are 75%  compatible, that’s all there is to it.  And just because he’s from this ‘great’ town back home, the family is wonderful and we will get along.  REally?!

I am so annoyed.

Sometimes I wish I never moved back home.  At least in Ottawa I had the peace of mind that I can say I don’t like this guy and I don’t have to listen to them ramble about why I made the wrong choice and why I am going to be old and grey and will never get married. 

I’m 25.  Ok.  Turning 26.  I don’t think I’m old.  Yes, I realize there is a ‘time limit’ of some sort that our society has put on when a Tamil girl should get married.  But I can’t get married just because it’s the right time to?  How does that make any sense? I just dont get it. 

I wish I can just get through to them that it’s sooo unreasonable what they are asking me.  No offense to the guy’s picture that I saw.  I just don’t think there’s any potential there.  It’s not because I’m a beauty queen or some gorgeous chick that only will look at a ‘good loooking’ Tamil guy.  I don’t think that about myself at all.  I’m just an average girl.  And I may be open to the idea of meeting someone this way. 

But since they never let me date openly when I was younger and I had to hide the fact that I was in a relationship… shouldn’t I have the right to pick and choose who I want to meet up with and who I don’t?  I’m not even being that picky.  I would never ever go for a guy like this.  He’s not my type…and I dont’ feel bad  for saying it. 

You can call me superficial…but first comes physical attractiveness.  I don’t feel anything when I see his photo.  Then why should I waste his time and mine trying to meet up with him? 

There is so much more to it than the 75% match.  But the annoyance comes from the fact that they will never understand this.  And now I have to hear them talk about how I should’ve found someone for myself. 

The last thing I want is pressure about getting married.  I’m 26.  And I’m young.  And I’m not ready.  It’s as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

